Mentorship Facilitators

Terms of Reference

Overview and Role:

Each division within the Department of Medicine will have a divisional mentorship facilitator. The mentorship facilitator will be a senior, impartial, and trusted individual who will facilitate the mentee/mentor relationship within the division. The divisional facilitator may not necessarily belong to the division that he/she is the mentorship facilitator for. The role of the mentorship facilitator is to assist physicians-in-chief and department division directors in recommending and maintaining mentoring relationships for faculty members. The mentorship facilitator is the first point of contact for the establishment of new mentor/mentee pairings, and also the go-to person should any challenges arise within these relationships.

Responsibilities: 

  • Facilitate matching between mentees and mentors
  • Provide support to mentors/mentees on their relationship
  • Establish local system for documenting and tracking these pairs
  • Be a point of contact for any issues that may arise
  • Provide feedback to mentors and mentees as needed
  • Collect data-process and outcome (e.g. are meetings taking place, what is covered in these meetings, satisfaction, problems, etc.)
  • Attend mentoring seminars and workshops
  • Attend regular department-wide meetings of all mentorship facilitators

We are accepting applications from full-time clinical faculty members for this role in several divisions.  Please contact dom.events@utoronto.ca for more information.

 

Division Mentorship Facilitator Email
Cardiology Louise Harris louise.harris@uhn.on.ca
Cardiology Eric Cohen Eric.Cohen@sunnybrook.ca
Emergency Medicine Joel Yaphe joel.yaphe@utoronto.ca
Endocrinology and Metabolism Gillian Booth boothg@smh.ca
Geriatrics Paula Rochon paula.rochon@wchospital.ca
General Internal Medicine Ed Etchells Edward.Etchells@sunnybrook.ca
Hematology Ian Quirt ianquirt@rogers.com
Infectious Diseases Michael Gardam Dr. Michael.Gardam@uhn.ca
Nephrology Martin Schreiber schreiberm@smh.ca
Neurology Anthony Strafella astrafel@uhnres.utoronto.ca
Physical Medicine and Rehabiliatation Nora Cullen Nora.Cullen@westpark.org
Respirology Liz Tullis tullise@smh.ca
Rheumatology Mary Bell mary.bell@sunnybrook.ca

If your division is not listed above, please contact your Department Division Director for assistance related to Mentorship.

Back to Top