Sheldon Mintz Undergraduate Teaching Award in Respirology University of Toronto

TERMS OF REFERENCE

Purpose

 To recognize excellence in teaching, educational leadership and educational administration at the Undergraduate level of members of the Division of Respirology at the University of Toronto.

Criteria

- Candidates may be nominated by faculty or students.
- A candidate may be nominated based on one or more of the following criteria:
 - 1. Has received high average TE scores on medical student evaluations provided for pre-clerkship and clerkship teaching.
 - 2. Has demonstrated consistent excellence in undergraduate teaching.
 - 3. Has provided exemplary service to the Division as an educational leader and administrator at the Undergraduate level.

All winners should be exemplary role model for medical students, demonstrating the CANMEDs roles with distinction. Basic scientists in the Division, should demonstrate the role of translational research and the importance of basic science to the practice of medicine.

Selection Process

The selection committee will be made up of the Division Director, senior members of the Executive of the Division, and the chief medical resident of the Postgraduate training committee.

In the case of nominations based on category 1) The selection committee will be provided with a list of the faculty obtaining the top three average TE scores from the previous year. These scores must be derived from at least 4 individual student evaluations and must be derived from all available scores. The division director will survey all TE scores for nomination and consideration for the award. In addition to the average TE score, individual components of the evaluation and comments made by the students which describe the teacher as an excellent role model will be considered.

In order for nominations to be considered, the nominators and/or nominees must provide supporting documentation for the candidate in the form of a curriculum vitae and/or teaching dossier. The nominees will be notified in advance to submit these supporting documents.

Any individual having already received the award within the previous 5 years will not be eligible.