Canada Research Chairs

The Canada Research Chairs Program (CRC) invests approximately $265 million per year across Canadian academic institutions to attract and retain some of the world’s most accomplished and promising minds. Chair holders aim to achieve research excellence in engineering and the natural sciences, health sciences, humanities, and social sciences.


Gillian Booth

  • CRC Tier 1: Canada Research Chair in Policy solutions for Diabetes Prevention and Management
  • Division of Endocrinology & Metabolism

Angela Cheung

  • CRC Tier 1: Canada Research Chair in Musculoskeletal and Postmenopausal Health
  • Division of General Internal Medicine

Ken Croitoru

  • CRC Tier 1: Inflammatory Bowel Diseases
  • Division of Gastroenterology & Hepatology

Herbert Gaisano

  • CRC Tier 1: Canada Research Chair in Diseases of the Exocrine and Endocrine Pancreas
  • Division of Gastroenterology & Hepatology

Marzyeh Ghassemi

  • CRC Tier 1: Machine Learning for Health
  • Cross appointment with the Department of Computer Science

Richard Gilbert

  • CRC Tier 1: Canada Research Chair in Diabetes Complications
  • Division of Endocrinology and Metabolism

Shiphra Ginsburg

  • CRC Tier 1: Health Professions Education
  • Division of Respirology

Richard Horner

  • CRC Tier 1: Respiration
  • Division of Respirology

Peter Juni

  • CRC Tier 1: Clinical Epidemiology of Chronic Diseases

Kevin Kain

  • CRC Tier 1: Molecular Parasitology 
  • Division of Infectious Diseases

​Andreas Laupacis

  • CRC Tier 1: Health Policy and Citizen Engagement 
  • Division of General Internal Medicine

Warren Lee

  • CRC Tier 2: Mechanisms of Endothelial Permeability
  • Division of Respirology

Lucy Osborne

  • CRC Tier 1: Genetics of Neurodevelopmental Disorders 

Rulan Parekh

  • CRC Tier 1: Health
  • Division of Nephrology

Donald Redelmeier

  • CRC Tier 1: Medical Decision Sciences 
  • Division of General Internal Medicine

Antonio P. Strafella

  • CRC Tier 2: Movement Disorders and Neuroimaging 
  • Division of Neurology

Sharon Elizabeth Straus

  • CRC Tier 1: Knowledge Translation and Quality of Care 
  • Division of Geriatric Medicine

Paaladinesh Thavendiranathan

  • CRC Tier 2: Canada Research Chair in Cardio-Oncology 
  • Division of Cardiology

Donald F. Weaver

  • CRC Tier 1: Neuroscience 
  • Division of Neurology

Harindra Wijeysundera

  • CRC Tier 2: Canada Research Chair in Structural Heart Disease Policy and Outcomes
  • Division of Cardiology

Minna Woo

  • CRC Tier 2: Diabetes Mellitus
  • Division of Endocrinology and Metabolism